Men's Basketball

1983 Basketball Team Headed to Ohio Hall
Release: Tuesday 05/12/2014 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

The Wright State University 1983 men’s basketball team will be inducted into the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame as part of the 2014 Class.  The dinner and induction ceremony will take place May 17 in Columbus. 

The 1983 team won the NCAA Division II National Title by beating the favored University of the District of Columbia 92-73 in Springfield, Massachusetts, on March 26, 1983.  The Raiders finished the year with a record of 28-4 with its lone road loss coming at the University of Louisville.  Point guard Mike Grote was named the tournament MVP while forward Gary Monroe was the team MVP and was selected as an All-American as he averaged 18.7 points a game.

"This team reached the pinnacle of success that all teams strive to reach,” said WSU Director of Athletics Bob Grant.  “In many ways, this team's success provided a springboard to Wright State moving to Division I and the eventual construction of the Nutter Center."

Contact the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame for more information:

MORE Men's Basketball

Program Pride
Stats             History
Game Notes             Nutter Center
Camps             Pavilion
2014-15 Media Guide             Photo Galleries
Horizon League Points of Pride             Wall of Fame
Billy Donlon Show             Season Highlight Videos
Alumni Form              

Email Updates

presented by
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now

Member Login

Forgot Password x