Women's Tennis

Haller, Verstrepen Receive All-Horizon League Honors
Release: Tuesday 04/27/2017 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

Junior Karoline Haller and senior Linsey Verstrepen were honored by the Horizon League Thursday night as the league announced its women's tennis postseason awards.  Haller was named to the First Team while Verstrepen was selected to the Second Team.

Haller (Bekkestua, Norway), the reigning Horizon League Player of the Week, also earned that honor on March 7.  On the season, Haller has recorded 13 singles wins, including decisions over Butler, Ball State, Cincinnati, Green Bay, Cleveland State, Valparaiso, Detroit Mercy, Oakland and Northern Kentucky.  She also has 20 doubles wins, including Dayton, Butler, Ball State, Cincinnati, Bowling Green, Toledo, Green Bay, Milwaukee, Cleveland State and UIC.

A First Team All-League honoree in 2016, Haller currently ranks 10th on the Raider all-time win list in singles with 60 and is just outside of the top 10 in doubles wins (56) and overall wins (116).

Verstrepen (Westerlo, Belgium) has posted 22 wins in singles this season, including victories over Cincinnati, Toledo, Dayton, Butler, Bowling Green, Green Bay, Milwaukee, Valparaiso, Detroit Mercy and Oakland. She has also added 28 doubles wins this season, including Cincinnati, Toledo, Xavier, Dayton, Butler, Bowling Green, Green Bay, Milwaukee, Cleveland State and UIC.  Verstrepen teamed with Haller in receiving the league's Doubles Team of the Week honor on March 7.

This is the third time that Verstrepen as been selected Second Team All-League as she also received the honor in 2014 and 2016.  She is currently fourth on the Raider all-time win list in singles with 84, tied for third in doubles with 83 and is third in overall wins with 167.

Wright State (14-13, 4-5 Horizon) opens Horizon League Tournament play on Friday, April 28, at 3:00 as the #6 seed Raiders face #3 seed UIC in the opening round at the Varsity Tennis Center in Ann Arbor, Michigan.


First Team All-Horizon League

Margita Sunjic, Fr., Northern Kentucky

Karoline Haller, Jr., Wright State

Dominika Lackova, Sr., Youngstown State

Oana Manole, Sr., UIC

Noelly Longi Nsimba, Jr., Youngstown State

Anna Davydova, Sr., Detroit Mercy     


Second Team All-Horizon League

Victoria Bensimon, Sr., Cleveland State

Isabella Spindler, So., Cleveland State

Klara Skopac, Sr., Northern Kentucky

Allison Motea, Fr., Oakland

Linsey Verstrepen, Sr., Wright State

Georgie Sanders, So., UIC             


Player of the Year: Margita Sunjic, Fr., Northern Kentucky

Freshman of the Year: Margita Sunjic, Northern Kentucky

Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award: Alysa Straub, Sr., Milwaukee

Coach of the Year: Shannon Tully, UIC

MORE Women's Tennis

Program Pride
Stats             Facebook
WSU Tennis Courts             Twitter
South Regency Tennis Center             Instagram
Photo Galleries             Alumni Form

Coaches & Staff
Head Coach Eric Burns
Volunteer Assistant Coach Tyler Johnston
Volunteer Assistant Coach Mark Recht

Email Updates

presented by YellowPages.com
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now