Women's Soccer

Four Receive All-Horizon League Women's Soccer Honors
Release: Thursday 10/31/2016 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

Four members of the Wright State women's soccer team were honored as the Horizon League announced its postseason awards on Monday.

Sophomore forward Aaliyah Patten was selected to the First Team, junior midfielder Niki Romero and senior goalkeeper Katie Ruff were each named to the Second Team and defender Andrea Gomez was chosen to the All-Freshman Team.

Patten (Fairborn, OH/Fairborn) is tied for fourth in the league in shots with 46 as she leads the squad with 12 points (4 goals, 4 assists).  Part of the All-Freshman Team last season, her four goals in 2016 came against Belmont, Cleveland State, Valparaiso and Oakland while her four assists were versus Ohio State, Green Bay, Cleveland State and Youngstown State.

Romero (Las Vegas, NV/West), a First Team All-League selection in 2015, scored a goal at Ohio State and Lipscomb.  She is also tied for the team lead in assists with four versus Belmont, Green Bay, Youngstown State and Northern Kentucky. 

Ruff (Colorado Springs, CO/Rampart) is second in the league with 84 saves and is tied for second with four shutouts against Saint Francis (PA), Fort Wayne, Detroit Mercy and Cleveland State.  She was named the league Defensive Player of the Week on September 6, October 3 and October 10.

Gomez (Loveland, OH/Loveland) was a key part of the Raider defense that posted four shutouts on the season.  She also recorded seven shots, including two against Northern Kentucky.

Wright State (6-10-2, 4-4-1 Horizon) opens Horizon League Tournament play on Monday night as the #6 seed Raiders travel to #3 Northern Kentucky in first round action starting at 7:00.  The semifinals and finals will be held in Milwaukee on Thursday and Saturday, respectively, with the winner receiving an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

The following is the 2016 women's soccer All-Horizon League teams:


Name School Yr.
Macy Hamblin Northern Kentucky Jr. F
Maria Stephans Milwaukee Sr. M
April Cronin Valparaiso Sr. F
Callie O'Donnell Milwaukee Sr. F
Anna Mindling Detroit Mercy Sr. F
Anna Smalley Milwaukee Jr. M
Alice Palmer Oakland Sr. F
Aaliyah Patten Wright State So. F
Jessica Frey Northern Kentucky Jr. F
Rachel DeLuca Detroit Mercy Jr. D
Marina Manzo Detroit Mercy Jr. GK


Name School Yr.
Kaila Sargema Cleveland State Sr. F
Niki Romero Wright State Jr. M
Marissa Martin Youngstown State Jr. F
Cassidy Blanchard Milwaukee Jr. D
Phylisha Drayton Detroit Mercy Jr. M
Katie Schulz Green Bay Sr. D
Katelyn Newton Northern Kentucky Sr. M
Sydnye Gagner Oakland So. M/F
Cory Griffith Valparaiso So. F
Emily Wauer UIC Jr. F
Katie Ruff Wright State Sr. GK


Name School Pos.
McKaela Schmelzer Milwaukee D
Tamae Douglas UIC M/F
Emily Valentine UIC D
Alizabeth Quillen Valparaiso M
Ava Porlier Valparaiso F
Sierra Grodsinsky Oakland D
Andrea Gomez Wright State D
Alyssa Barnes Green Bay M
Casey Couturier Detroit Mercy M
Larsen Murvin Youngstown State D
Ally Perkins Northern Kentucky M

Player of the Year: Macy Hamblin, Jr., F, Northern Kentucky

Offensive Player of the Year: Macy Hamblin, Jr., F, Northern Kentucky

Defensive Player of the Year: Rachel DeLuca, Jr., D, Detroit Mercy

Goalkeeper of the Year: Marina Manzo, Jr., Detroit Mercy

Freshman of the Year: McKaela Schmelzer, F, Milwaukee

Coach of the Year: Troy Fabiano, Milwaukee

MORE Women's Soccer

Program Pride
Stats             Camps
Alumni Field             Facebook
History             Twitter
Walk of Fame             Alumni Form
Photo Galleries              

Email Updates

presented by YellowPages.com
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now