Men's Tennis

Three Men's Tennis Players Receive Horizon League Honors
Release: Thursday 04/24/2014 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

Junior Lauri Makikalli, senior Hayden Joblin and freshman Dan Gilbert received All-Horizon League Honors as the men's tennis postseason awards were announced on Thursday evening.  Makikalli was selected First Team All-Horizon League while Joblin and Gilbert were each named to the Second Team.

Makikalli (Hyvinkaa, Finland) was second for WSU with 31 total wins in 2013-14, 18 of those coming in singles play.  Included in those 18 wins were decisions over Louisville, Iowa and Purdue along with Youngstown State, Valparaiso, UIC and Detroit in league play.  Makikalli also won 13 times in doubles, posting wins over Louisville, Xavier, Marquette, Florida Atlantic, Youngstown State and Detroit.

A First Team All-League selection during the 2012-13 season and a Second Team All-League honoree in 2011-12, Makikalli has recorded 92 wins during his Raider career, with 50 of those coming in singles play.

Joblin (Brooklyn, New Zealand) had 28 total wins this season, with 15 coming in singles play.  He recorded wins over Xavier, Youngstown State, Cleveland State, Valparaiso, UIC, Detroit and Duquesne.  Included in his 13 doubles victories were decisions over Xavier, Florida Atlantic, Youngstown State, Valparaiso and UIC.

Like Makikalli, Joblin was named First Team All-Horizon League in 2012-13 and Second Team All-League in 2011-12.  Joblin is currently eighth on the all-time Raider win list with 121, 65 of those coming in singles play to rank him seventh.

Gilbert (Bournemouth, England) finished third on the squad in total wins this season with 29, with 16 of those coming in doubles.  He teamed with five different players in earning those 16 wins, seven with Myles Harris in #3 doubles against opponents such as Dayton, Cleveland State, Valparaiso and UIC.

Gilbert also posted 13 singles wins on the year, including decisions over Louisville and Florida Atlantic and Youngstown State, Cleveland State and UIC in league play.

Wright State (10-13, 4-2 Horizon) will be the #3 seed in this weekend's Horizon League Tournament, which will take place at the University of Michigan Tennis Center in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  The Raiders face #6 seed Youngstown State in the first round on Friday at 3:00, with the winner taking on #2 seed Cleveland State on Saturday, also at 3:00.


First Team All-Horizon League

Matt Kuelker, Sr., Cleveland State

Jeffrey Schorsch, Fr., Valparaiso

Michael Tenzer, Jr., Green Bay

Leopold Gomez-Islinger, So., Green Bay

Howard Scott, So., Green Bay

Lauri Makikalli, Jr., Wright State


Second Team All-Horizon League

Ali Shabib, Jr., Cleveland State

Bobby Cawood, Sr., Detroit

Dave Bacalla, Fr., Valparaiso

Dan Gilbert, Fr., Wright State

Hayden Joblin, Sr., Wright State

Sebastian Hagn, Sr., Youngstown State


Player of the Year: Michael Tenzer, Jr., Green Bay

Freshman of the Year: Jeffrey Schorsch, Valparaiso

Coach of the Year: Mark Thomas, Green Bay

Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award: Bobby Cawood, Sr., Detroit

MORE Men's Tennis

Program Pride
Stats             Facebook
WSU Tennis Courts             Twitter
South Regency Tennis Center             Instagram
Photo Galleries             Alumni Form

Coaches & Staff
Head Coach Eric Burns
Volunteer Assistant Coach Tyler Johnston
Volunteer Assistant Coach Mark Recht

Email Updates

presented by
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now