Men's Tennis

Joblin, Makikalli Named First Team All-Horizon League
Release: Friday 04/26/2013 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

Junior Hayden Joblin and sophomore Lauri Makikalli were each selected First Team All-Horizon League as the league announced its postseason men's tennis awards Friday evening.

Joblin (Brooklyn, New Zealand), a Second Team All-League honoree last season, led the way for the Raiders with 16 singles wins during the regular season, including decisions over UIC, Valparaiso and Detroit in league play.  He also recorded wins over Xavier, Butler and Saint Louis.

In doubles, Joblin won 15 times, including UIC, Valparaiso, Green Bay, Youngstown State and Cleveland State.  He also teamed with Jamison Clark for wins over Dayton, Butler and Saint Louis.

Makikalli (Hyvinkaa, Finland), like Joblin a Second Team All-League honoree in 2011-12, posted 14 singles wins during the regular season, including UIC, Valparaiso, Detroit, Green Bay and Youngstown State.

In doubles, Makikalli won 16 times, including a string of seven straight against Northern Kentucky, Saint Louis, Morehead State, IUPUI, UIC, Valparaiso and Detroit and also posted a wins over #52 Michigan State, Cleveland State and Xavier. 

Wright State (13-12), the #4 seed in the Horizon League Championships, will take on #1 seed Green Bay in the semifinals Saturday morning at 10 at North Central High School in Indianapolis.  The winner advances to Sunday's final with a trip to the NCAA Tournament at stake.


First Team All-Horizon League

Michael Tenzer, So., Green Bay

Silviu Mistreanu, So., Youngstown State

Hayden Joblin, Jr., Wright State

Lauri Makikalli, So., Wright State

Jorg van der Vloet, So., Cleveland State

Erik Finkenbrink, Sr., Green Bay


Second Team All-Horizon League

Matt Kuelker, Jr., Cleveland State

Craig Cox, Sr., Green Bay

Alexander Raa, Jr., UIC

Sebastian Hagn, Jr., Youngstown State

Ali Shabib, So., Cleveland State

Eric Honert, Jr., Valparaiso


Player of the Year: Michael Tenzer, So., Green Bay

Newcomer of the Year: Sebastian Hagn, Jr., Youngstown State

Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award: Craig Cox, Sr., Green Bay

Coach of the Year: Mark Thomas, Green Bay


MORE Men's Tennis

Program Pride
Stats             Facebook
WSU Tennis Courts             Twitter
South Regency Tennis Center             Instagram
Photo Galleries             Alumni Form

Coaches & Staff
Head Coach Eric Burns
Volunteer Assistant Coach Tyler Johnston
Volunteer Assistant Coach Mark Recht

Email Updates

presented by
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now