Men's Basketball

Donlon Named Coach of the Year; Darling Second Team
Release: Tuesday 03/04/2013 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

Wright State men's basketball coach Billy Donlon was named the Horizon League Coach of the Year and junior forward Cole Darling was named to the League’s Second Team as the All-Horizon League teams were announced Monday.

Donlon, in his third season as head coach, led the Raiders to a 19-11, 10-6 record and a third-place finish after being picked to finish last in the preseason poll.   He holds an overall record of 51-44.

"I am very happy for Cole," Donlon said.  "He has had an outstanding season with both his play and leadership.  He is very deserving of this selection.  I want to also congratulate our players and staff because the Coach of the Year award is a reflection of their efforts."

Darling, who has missed the last four games, has led the team in scoring with an 11.3 points per game average.  The Holt, Michigan native has scored 20 or more points three times this year, including his career-high 29 points against Morehead State.  He also holds the team lead in rebounding average at 4.6.

Wright State (19-11, 10-6 Horizon) will take on the winner of Tuesday's Loyola at Youngstown State contest on Friday, March 8, at 6:00 Eastern in Valparaiso.


WSU League Coach of the Year

2004   Paul Biancardi

2008   Brad Brownell (co)

2013   Billy Donlon

All-Mid-Continent Conference

1992   Bill Edwards

1993   Bill Edwards, Mark Woods

1994   Mike Nahar


All-MCC/Horizon League

1995   Vitaly Potapenko

1996   Vitaly Potapenko

1997   Keion Brooks

1998   Keion Brooks (2nd)

1999   Keion Brooks, Kevin Melson (2nd)

2000   Kevin Melson, Israel Sheinfeld

2001   Kevin Melson, Israel Sheinfeld (2nd)

2002   Cain Doliboa (2nd), Seth Doliboa (2nd)

2003   Seth Doliboa

2004   Seth Doliboa, Vernard Hollins (2nd)

2005   DaShaun Wood (2nd)

2006   DaShaun Wood

2007   DaShaun Wood

2008   Vaughn Duggins

2009   Todd Brown (2nd)

2010   Vaughn Duggins (2nd)

2011   Vaughn Duggins, N'Gai Evans (2nd)

2012   Julius Mays (2nd)

2013   Cole Darling (2nd)


The following is the 2012-13 men's basketball All-Horizon League teams:



Name School Yr.
Ray McCallum Detroit Jr. G
Ryan Broekhoff Valparaiso Sr. F
Nick Minnerath Detroit Sr. F
Kendrick Perry Youngstown State Jr. G
Keifer Sykes Green Bay So. G


Name School Yr.
Alec Brown Green Bay Jr. C
Kevin Van Wijk Valparaiso Sr. F
Ben Averkamp Loyola Sr. F
Gary Talton UIC Sr. G
Cole Darling
Wright State
Jr. F



Name School Yr.
Bryn Forbes Cleveland State Fr. G
Jordan Fouse Green Bay Fr. F
Jordan Aaron Milwaukee Jr. G
Kamren Belin Youngstown State Jr. F
Josh Crittle UIC Sr. C



Name School Yr.
Damian Eargle Youngstown State Sr. F
Erik Buggs Valparaiso Sr. G
Kendrick Perry Youngstown State Jr. G
Alec Brown Green Bay Jr. C
Jordan Fouse Green Bay Fr. F


Player of the Year: Ray McCallum, Jr., G, Detroit

Newcomer of the Year: Bryn Forbes, Fr., G, Cleveland State

Defensive Player of the Year: Damian Eargle, Sr., F, Youngstown State

Sixth Man of the Year: LaVonte Dority, Jr., G, Valparaiso

Coach of the Year: Billy Donlon, Wright State

Email Updates

presented by
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now