Women's Basketball

stop
Women's Basketball Announces 2012-13 Schedule
Release: Monday 08/30/2012 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations
15 regular-season home games, including the annual meeting with crosstown rival Dayton, along with matchups at Ohio State, Xavier and Memphis highlight the 2012-13 Wright State women's basketball schedule that was announced on Thursday.

The Raiders, under third-year head coach Mike Bradbury, host Indianapolis and Cedarville in exhibition action before opening the regular season on Friday, November 19, at Southeast Missouri.  WSU then welcomes in IUPUI and Buffalo before closing November with the game at Ohio State on November 25 followed by the home Dayton contest on November 28.

All seven of Wright State's games in December will take place in Ohio as WSU travels to Miami, Akron and Xavier with a home game versus Urbana sandwiched in between.  The Raiders then host the second annual Wright State Invitational presented by Holiday Inn December 19 and 21 as Western Kentucky, Florida A&M and St. Francis (PA) round out the field. 

After Wright State hosts Morehead State on December 31, the Raiders wrap up the nonleague portion of their schedule at Memphis on Saturday, January 5.  That contest will be just the second of the season outside of Ohio for the Raiders and the first since the opener at Southeast Missouri.

The remainder of the schedule is the 16-game Horizon League slate, which starts on Thursday, January 10, at Milwaukee. Wright State will be home for four straight to close out January and start February, including a matchup with Green Bay on Monday, January 28.

The Horizon League Tournament begins on Monday, March 11, with the finals set for Sunday, March 17, a day before the NCAA pairings are announced.

In all, Wright State will face six teams that advanced to postseason tournaments last season (Dayton, Green Bay and Ohio State in the NCAA; Detroit, Memphis and Miami in the WNIT).

Wright State posted its most wins in its 25-year Division I history in 2011-12 as the Raiders went 21-13 and advanced to the quarterfinals of the Women's Basketball Invitational for the second consecutive year.  Guard Kim Demmings was named a Second Team Freshman All-American by Full Court last season as she she led all Division I freshmen in scoring at 18.4 points per game and set a WSU freshman scoring record with 626 points. The Horizon League Co-Newcomer of the Year, Demmings was a First Team All-Horizon League selection as she finished second in the league in scoring and in assists at 4.3 per contest.

The following is the 2012-13 Wright State women's basketball schedule:

 

2012-13 Wright State University Women's Basketball Schedule

Tentative--Dates Subject to Change

Times To Be Announced

Day Date Opponent
Thursday November 1
INDIANAPOLIS (Exhibition)
Sunday November 4
CEDARVILLE (Exhibition)
Friday November 9
at Southeast Missouri
Wednesday November 14
IUPUI
Sunday November 18
BUFFALO
Sunday November 25
at Ohio State
Wednesday November 28
DAYTON
Tuesday December 4
at Miami
Saturday December 8 at Akron
Wednesday December 12 URBANA
Saturday December 15 at Xavier
Wednesday December 19
WESTERN KENTUCKY +
Friday December 21
FLORIDA A&M/ST. FRANCIS (PA) +
Monday December 31 MOREHEAD STATE
Saturday January 5 at Memphis
Thursday January 10
at Milwaukee *
Saturday January 12 at Green Bay *
Wednesday January 16 DETROIT *
Saturday January 19
at Loyola *
Thursday January 24 UIC *
Monday January 28 GREEN BAY *
Thursday January 31 VALPARAISO *
Sunday February 3
YOUNGSTOWN STATE *
Thursday February 7 at Cleveland State *
Wednesday February 13
at Detroit *
Saturday February 16 LOYOLA *
Thursday February 21 at UIC *
Saturday February 23 MILWAUKEE *
Thursday February 28 at Valparaiso *
Saturday March 2 at Youngstown State *
Thursday March 7
CLEVELAND STATE *
Monday March 11
HL First Round ^
Wednesday March 13
HL Quarterfinals #
Friday March 15
HL Semifinals !
Sunday March 17 HL Championship !


+ Wright State Invitational Presented by Holiday Inn

* Horizon League Games

^ #8 Seed Hosts #9 Seed

# Top Four Seeds Host

!  Site of Highest Remaining Seed

Email Updates

presented by YellowPages.com
WATCH EXCLUSIVE Live &
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now

Member Login

Forgot Password x