Men's Tennis

Four Men's Tennis Players Honored by Horizon League
Release: Friday 04/27/2012 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

Four members of the Wright State men's tennis team were recognized by the Horizon League as the postseason awards were announced Friday evening.  Senior Martin Arguello was named the Player of the Year, freshman Lauri Makikalli and sophomore Hayden Joblin were chosen to the Second Team and head coach Sean McCaffrey was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Arguello (Foz do Iguaca, Brazil) went 27-11 in singles play during the year, including a 15-7 dual match mark in #1 singles where he was 6-1 against Horizon League competition.  The Horizon League Athlete of the Week on March 6 and April 17, he was the decisive point in WSU's 4-3 win over Green Bay that gave the Raiders the regular-season league title.  Arguello, who is the first from Wright State to be named Horizon League Player of the Year, also won 17 times in doubles play, including 11 in #2 doubles with Makikalli.

Makikalli (Hyvinkaa, Finland) posted an 18-7 mark in singles play for the year, including a 13-2 dual match record in #3 singles where he was a perfect 7-0 in Horizon League play.  The Horizon League Athlete of the Week on February 28, Makikalli closed out the regular season by winning 13 of his last 14 singles matches, with the lone loss coming at #35 Louisville.

Joblin (Brooklyn, New Zealand) was 19-11 in singles play during the year, including a 14-6 dual match mark in #2 singles.  The Horizon League Athlete of the Week on January 24 and March 13, Joblin won 21 doubles matches in 2011-12, including 15 in dual action.

McCaffrey, in his fourth season at the helm, has engineered quite a turnaround since taking over.  After the men posted a 5-16 mark in his first year, the Raiders improved to 15-9 in 2009-10, with the .387 winning percentage improvement being the best in Division I.  WSU was then 17-10 in 2010-11 and is currently 18-4 this season, including a 7-0 Horizon League record in winning the regular season title for the first time.

Wright State begins Horizon League Championship play on Saturday at 4:00 as the #1 seed Raiders face #4 seed Cleveland State in the semifinals at the Butler Bubble.  The winner of that match will face the winner of #2 Green Bay and #6 Butler in the finals Sunday at 12:30, while the loser takes on the Green Bay/Butler loser in the third-place match Sunday at 9:00.

The following are the 2011-12 Men's Tennis All-Horizon League honorees:


First Team All-Horizon League

Martin Arguello, Sr., Wright State

Paul Swanson, Sr., Green Bay

Yannick Goossens, Sr., Cleveland State

Austin Woldmoe, Fr., Butler

Silviu Mistreanu, Fr., Youngstown State

Michael Tenzer, Fr., Green Bay


Second Team

James Li, So., UIC

Lauri Makikalli, Fr., Wright State

Cesar Escobar Serrano, Jr., Detroit

Erik Finkenbrink, Jr., Green Bay

Matt Kuelker, So., Cleveland State

Hayden Joblin, So., Wright State


Player of the Year: Martin Arguello, Sr., Wright State

Newcomer of the Year: Austin Woldmoe, Fr., Butler

Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award: Adam Whitmer, Sr., Valparaiso

Coach of the Year: Sean McCaffrey, Wright State

MORE Men's Tennis

Program Pride
Stats             Facebook
WSU Tennis Courts             Twitter
South Regency Tennis Center             Instagram
Photo Galleries             Alumni Form

Coaches & Staff
Head Coach Eric Burns
Volunteer Assistant Coach Tyler Johnston
Volunteer Assistant Coach Mark Recht

Email Updates

presented by
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now