Baseball Falls in HL Championship to UIC
Release: Tuesday 05/27/2017 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

The Wright State baseball team led 1-0 early, only to see UIC go in front for good with a three-run fifth as the Flames claimed the Horizon League Tournament title Saturday with a 4-2 decision at Granderson Stadium.

It took just three batters for the Raiders to grab the lead as Matt Morrow connected on a solo opposite field home run to left, his fifth of the season.

The score remained 1-0 until UIC tallied three runs in the fifth, the big blow being a two-run triple by eventual tournament MVP David Cronin.

WSU, though, cut the deficit to 3-2 with a run in the sixth as JD Orr walked, went to second on a Zach Weatherford bunt and scored on Gabe Snyder's single up the middle.

The Flames, however, answered with a run of their own in the sixth and Wright State would get no closer.

Morrow, who was joined on the All-Tournament Team by teammates Snyder and Kevin Whatley, had two hits on the day.

Wright State closes its season with a final record of 38-21.


Horizon League All-Tournament Team

Brad Bohlen, Northern Kentucky

TJ Alas, Northern Kentucky

Matt DiLeo, Oakland

Tyler Pagano, Oakland

Matt Morrow, Wright State

Gabe Snyder, Wright State

Kevin Whatley, Wright State

Jake Dahlberg, UIC

Reid Birlingmair, UIC

Cody Bohanek, UIC

Mickey McDonald, UIC

David Cronin, UIC (MVP)

MORE Baseball

Email Updates

presented by
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now